This quaint, turn-of-the-century, L-shaped cottage is believed to have been built in 1906 by George and Lina Fink who lived there until their deaths. This home’s story really began in 1973; after years of vacancy left it in utter disrepair, smothered in vegetation and condemned. At that time, Doris Ludwick acquired the cottage to tear it down and rebuild on the lot. Ms. Ludwick became enamored with the house, changed her mind about razing it, and slowly and lovingly renovated it. Ms. Ludwick continued to live in the house, her pride and joy, until 2000.
Built by W. L. Kluttz and J. A. Rendleman in 1900, this charming cottage housed a number of owners and tenants over the years. Surprisingly, the house remains remarkably intact with only slight remodeling of its interior. Its simple, but elegant, interior trim, moldings and front mantle give it a classic and timeless look. The Cart House's steep hip roof has gables on the front and east side as well as a dormer window on the front, which collectively contribute to this cottage's outsized presence on West Horah Street.
This handsome, three-story brick building, located on Main Street in China Grove, was built in 1903. It replaced an earlier frame mill building, which included a grist mill, a sawmill and a cotton gin. One of the last operating roller mills in the area, the China Grove Roller Mill was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. Since 1996 the South Rowan Historical Society operated the roller mill as a museum until it recently transferred the property to the Rowan Museum, Inc. The site will continue to be opened for tours and events.
Moses Corriher and his wife Geneva built this house around 1902 shortly after they purchased the surrounding 150-acre farmland in southern Rowan County. The two-story wood frame farm house began rather modestly but was expanded as the Corriher family grew. The Moses Corriher House remains in the Corriher family and, while it has been remodeled, the character of the house remains intact. Hardwood floors, fireplace bricks, bead board ceilings and exposed beams are original. This beautiful country home is well worth the drive.
Livingstone College’s second president, William H. Goler, constructed this house, with the help of college students, for Mary Alice Lynch, an instructor and librarian at the College. The circular front porch with Romanesque arches is the house’s most recognizable feature. Considered architecturally important because of its unique and iconic design, the Lynch-Nicholson House acts as a gateway to the West End Neighborhood. It is the first of six properties that Livingstone College and HSF have agreed to stabilize and renovate. The Lynch-Nicholson House is offered as a restoration in progress.
Senator Dole’s parents, John Van Hanford and Mary Ella Cathey Hanford built the house in 1937 and here raised their two children – Elizabeth and her brother, the late John Van Hanford, Jr. In addition to being historically significant, the Hanford-Dole House is architecturally notable as one of the few Tudor Revival style houses in Salisbury. The two and a half-story house was designed by prominent Charlotte architect, William H. Peeps. The asymmetrical exterior is a decorative combination of stone, brick, stucco and half timbers, artfully executed in the Tudor style. The interior features a graceful curved staircase and Tudor arches. The interior remains true to its original design other than the 1970’s addition of a downstairs master bedroom suite.
Dr. Robert Lamar Ramsay, a local dentist, built this charming one and one-half story Victorian cottage in 1897 for his bride, Lena Reid Thompson. The family later outgrew the house and moved to a larger house at 425 South Fulton Street. The cottage features German siding and a steep hip roof with projecting gables and dormers. The front porch, which curves around the north side of the house, has an attractive pergola, turned posts and trefoil pendant brackets; it creates an inviting look to the dwelling.
This unique Spanish Mission style house, one of only a few in Salisbury, was built in 1905 for Colonel and Mrs. Franklin Fletcher Smith. Long divided into multiple apartments, the house was returned to its single family status in 1977. The current owners of the Fletcher Smith House have extensively updated the house, which they purchased in 2013.
The 1820 Dr. Josephus W. Hall House and Kitchen at 226 South Jackson Street will also be open during the tour. The Hall House grounds and adjacent portion of West Bank Street will feature food vendors and entertainment both days. Artifacts from John Fulton’s earlier home (ca. 1770-1820) are exhibited on the second floor, along with a desk used by Andrew Jackson when he studied law in the office of Spruce Macay in 1784.
The Utzman-Chambers House continues to be one of the finest examples of Federal townhouses surviving in North Carolina. The house, built for local cabinetmaker Lewis Utzman, reflects the lifestyle of the area’s more affluent citizens during the early 1800s. It was built by Jacob Stirewalt, the master builder of that era in Rowan County, and features a unique hand-carved staircase. The house was purchased by Maxwell Chambers in 1847 and used as a Manse by the First Presbyterian Church until 1913. It was restored by the Rowan Museum, Inc., and opened to the public as a house museum in 1955.