SMALL220 Fulton 1 ERIN COMERFORD

In 1918, Minnie Lord Scales Henderson, widow of Captain Richard Henderson, rented the house at 220 South Fulton Street known as the J.J. Bruner House. Mrs. Henderson purchased the property a year later and had the house torn down. In its place, she had the two-story brick house that currently stands on the property built.

Intended by Mrs. Henderson to be “one of the most modern homes on the street,” this 1922 house maintains its modern feel. Its low hipped roof, wide eaves with exposed rafters and wrap-around one-story porch epitomize the styling of the early 20th century Arts and Crafts movement. The linear, handcrafted oak used throughout and the diamond paned, leaded glass windows create handsome interior spaces, also in the Arts and Crafts style.

Photo by Erin Comerford Photography

FacebookGoogle BookmarksLinkedin

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 5.40.30 PM 

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation - Celebrating 44 Years of Preservation

Small Logo for CC

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation, founded in 1972, is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to preserve, protect and revitalize the historic fabric of Salisbury and Rowan County.