October Tour Sean Meyers Photography KluttzDS reduced

Dr. C.A. Henderson built and opened a drugstore on the northeast corner of Main Street in 1858. The three-and-one half story brick building, said to be the tallest in the state at the time, is one of the only pre-Civil War commercial buildings remaining in downtown Salisbury. Henderson left Salisbury after the War and the drugstore was taken over by Theo. F. Kluttz. Later, the Purcell family bought the building and ran their drug store on the ground floor until the mid-70s.

The building sat neglected for years. Margaret and George Kluttz along with Bill and Susan Kluttz bought it in 1985 and completed its restoration a few years later. The project received a Preservation North Carolina award in 1986. One of the Kluttz’s innovations was to convert the third floor, once home to a Masonic Temple, into a loft apartment. It was one of the first apartments in downtown Salisbury—well ahead of today’s trend in downtown living. The original loft apartment was on OctoberTour in 1992 and will be on again this year in its recently remodeled state. Photo by Sean Meyers

FacebookGoogle BookmarksLinkedin

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 5.40.30 PM 

 

Purchase Tickets

All OctoberTour Event Tickets
Name/Patrons Party Badge Names
Telephone Number/Zip Code

Historic Salisbury Foundation - Celebrating 46 Years of Preservation

Small Logo for CC

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation, founded in 1972, is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to preserve, protect and revitalize the historic fabric of Salisbury and Rowan County.