This grand brick and granite residence stands as one of the country’s finest examples of the Chateauesque architectural style. Built in 1902 for Egbert Barry Cornwall Hambley, the Cornish mining and civil engineer, who came to the Piedmont with entrepreneurial plans to develop gold mines and then turned to hydroelectric power. Hambley needed a residence suitable for entertaining investors—hence the majestic scale and setting of the house.
Designed by the Charlotte architectural firm of Hook and Sawyer, the two and a half story house and its grounds make extensive use of locally quarried granite. The house’s notable architectural features include a steeply-pitched roof pierced with spires, pinnacles, turrets, gables, towers, and chimneys. The landscaping of the grounds was completed in 1904; and, the property includes a carriage house, stables and servants’ quarters, also in the Chateauesque style.
Tragically, Hambley died of typhoid fever in 1906. The house was sold by Hambley’s widow to John Norwood in 1917. Leo C. Wallace and his wife, Ella Belle Cohen Wallace, acquired it in 1927. It continues to be owned by members of the Wallace family. An extensive—and, remarkable--rehabilitation of the house and grounds was completed in 2012.
Photo by Erin Comerford Photography