Hall House md.jpg

The 1820 Dr. Josephus W. Hall House and Kitchen at 226 South Jackson Street will also be open during the tour. The Hall House grounds and adjacent portion of West Bank Street will feature food vendors and entertainment both days. Artifacts from John Fulton’s earlier home (ca. 1770-1820) are exhibited on the second floor, along with a desk used by Andrew Jackson when he studied law in the office of Spruce Macay in 1784.

Built in 1820 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Dr. Josephus Hall House was originally constructed as classrooms for the Salisbury Female Academy (1820-1825). The Hall House became a residence in 1825 when local businessman Maxwell Chambers and his half-sister Rebecca Troy purchased the property and made it their home. Dr. Josephus Hall purchased the home in 1859 and began to transform it into a grand Southern residence. 

Walk in the footsteps of the Hall family as you experience original furnishings, wallpapers, and painted ceilings. Stroll the grounds of the Hall House site where you will discover the restored kitchen building (ca. 1825), the restored slave dwelling (ca. 1825), and a cannon once used at Salisbury’s Civil War Prison. With nearly 200 years of history, the Hall House has many stories to share with its visitors.

The house served four generations of the Hall family before its purchase by Historic Salisbury Foundation in 1972, along with many of its original contents, from Hall’s great granddaughter. A two-room detached kitchen, staffed before emancipation by enslaved persons, was carefully restored over a three year period and opened to the public in 2006. The Hall House is individually listed in the National Register for Historic Places.

This property is located at 226 South Jackson Street, and is owned by Historic Salisbury Foundation. 

FacebookGoogle BookmarksLinkedin

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 5.40.30 PM 

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation - Celebrating 44 Years of Preservation

Small Logo for CC

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation, founded in 1972, is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to preserve, protect and revitalize the historic fabric of Salisbury and Rowan County.