The Dr. Josephus W. Hall House and its detached kitchen stand as the centerpiece of the historic West Square Neighborhood.
Built in 1820 as a two-story frame dwelling, it was remodeled in 1850 with its distinctive two-tier flat roofed front porch that features a five-bay ornamental cast iron arcade in a grapevine pattern. The hipped roof form and exterior chimneys were rebuilt in 1911. The interior features Federal, Greek Revival, and Late Victorian-style design elements. The building housed the Salisbury Academy girls' school until 1825, when Maxwell Chambers acquired the home.
Rowan County native Dr. Josephus Hall bought the house, stables, and slaves' quarters in 1859 for $3,500. He added the decorative ironwork for $125. During the Civil War, Hall served as a surgeon for the Confederate Prison. When Union troops invaded, they took over the front part of the house; Hall and his family lived in the back. Hall's descendants continued to live in the house until 1972, when the Historic Salisbury Foundation bought it along with some original furnishings.
The Hall House has anchored every OctoberTour since the first in 1976. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.This year, the Hall House celebrates its 200th anniversary.