2020 Virtual Tour
Morris House c. 1909
One of North Carolina’s first licensed architects, Louis Asbury, designed this two-story, Colonial Revival residence for Emma-Lewis and Claude Morris.
Mr. Morris was the Vice-President of the Salisbury Cotton Mill and Mrs. Morris, a founder of the Rowan Public library, started the first adult education program in Rowan County and held classes at the mill. A granite paver driveway, large yard and spacious front porch welcome visitors to the residence.
Following a fire in 1930, a bay window and sunroom were added to the original floorplan and the wood shingles were replaced with terra cotta. The current owners purchased the property from the Morris’ grandson in 2011 and have undertaken extensive interior and exterior renovations.