In 1905 at 123 North Main Street, A.G. Peeler opened Bamby Bakers.
The bakery expanded into this two story addition, designed and built by Wagoner Construction in the late 1950s, and was by then a retail and wholesale operation. Bamby merged with Flowers Industries in 1969. Bread production ceased in 1986 and the company closed permanently two years later. In 1997.
Years after the bakery closed, the City of Salisbury purchased the 43,000 square foot building as a downtown redevelopment project. Two couples each purchased a half of the building in 2005 and began restoration projects, keeping with the industrial aesthetic of the space with apartments upstairs and art studio/gallery space downstairs.
Half of the building was recently purchased and completely transformed into a yoga/wellness/kitchen space with a demonstration kitchen, therapy services, and studio space.
Welcome to the Heart of Salisbury!