Thomas Jerome, a local attorney, had this 2-½ story, 12-room Victorian landmark built in 1901.
Among its notable features are a wide and dramatic wraparound front porch, octagonal turrets, Doric columns, cedar shakes and rough finished stucco. Beginning in 1936, zoning rules allowed for the conversion of this Queen Anne home to a funeral parlor, an arrangement that lasted until 1975.
The home was about to be demolished to accommodate a parking lot for the Fairmont Terrace apartments when it was purchased and converted back to a single-family dwelling. Since then, three successive owners have undertaken extensive interior restorations to reconfigure the home.
The current owners purchased the property in 2005 and immediately worked with local craftsman to extensively renovate the kitchen and make structural repairs.