This stately colonial overlooking the City Park lake was built in 1942 by Charlotte architect William H. Peeps for Mr. and Mrs. Thomas W. Borland.
Mr. Borland worked as the President and Chairman of Carlton Yarn Mills. He served on numerous boards in Rowan County including the YMCA, Rowan Regional Medical Center, Rowan Salisbury Schools, and was one of the first board members for Salisbury Community Foundation. He served on the church council for St. John’s Lutheran Church and his wife, Margaret, was a volunteer for Historic Salisbury Foundation.
Additions of a living area, new master bedroom and bath, and an additional bedroom and bath were completed in 1950 by Beam and Mackintosh Architects of Charlotte. After Mr. Borland’s death in 2006, Mrs. Borland sold the home in 2008 to Dr. Richard and Lacreasa Allen, who made additional renovations to the home. The current owners purchased the home in 2014 and have continued renovations, including converting the “dungeon” basement into a family hangout space with a wine cellar.
The home retains many original features including two completely original upstairs bathrooms, stunning wood paneling in the library and living room, large multi-pane bow windows, decorative ironwork on the double porches, a rear dutch door with original hardware, and exterior fireplace. The extensive 5-acre grounds include a large brick patio, flagstone walkways, and a charming playhouse.