This Mission style house was built for Ella and Leo Wallace, Sr., on what was once part of the Dr. Josephus Hall House grounds.
At that time, Mr. Wallace worked in the family business of men’s clothing and furnishings, Victor Wallace & Sons. In 1927, the Wallaces purchased the large home at 508 South Fulton Street, the Hambley-Wallace House.
John Ernest Ramsey designed the house using stucco walls, red clay tile roof, curved parapets and widely overhanging eaves. His son, John Erwin Ramsey, was also an architect, and designed many Mid-Century houses in the state. The Mission style originated in California, as a counterpart to the Colonial Revival style, which was popular in the eastern half of the United States during the same period.
A deep porch wraps around the front and side of the Leo Wallace, Sr. House, and its Ionic columns are accentuated with scroll-like capitals. The interior is richly detailed with parquet wood floors, the exterior beveled glass doors, ornate moldings and trim, and features four balconies. The house has several noteworthy features, including large amounts of storage space and an elevator near the kitchen.
After the Wallace Family moved to 508 South Fulton, this house was occupied for approximately twenty years by Mrs. Luna Williams. It was then owned by Lucile and Edward Proctor. Dr. Frank Kirk, a dentist, and his family lived in the house for many years, and he operated his practice out of the home. The current owners took on extensive interior and exterior restorations including a complete removal of the Spanish tile roof for repairs. All tiles were stacked and numbered for re-installation.