Dr. Ernest Stokes, the resident surgeon at Salisbury’s first modern hospital known as the Whitehead-Stokes Sanatorium, built this Colonial Revival-Style frame house in 1919.
The home was enjoyed by the Snider family for fifty-nine years and features Ionic-columned entrance porch, dentil cornice, and a pediment dormer. This home was located on the site of the Salisbury Male Academy (ca. 1815), later known as the Shober House.
The current owners completed a full restoration and operate Across the Pond Bed and Breakfast in the home.
Thank you to all of our sponsors!
Alice and Fred Stanback
Gavine, Andrew, and Theresa Pitner
Whitney and Brannon Williams
Nancy and Edward Clement
Gordon and Carolyn Hurley
Tim and Trisha Proper
Betty and Bud Mickle
Barb and Cliff Sorel
Susan and Edward Norvell
Wivianny and Ryan DeHaas
Tom and Martha Smith - Salisbury Community Foundation
Jack and Linda Errante
Pam and Alan Rutherford
Kay and Raymond Coltrain
Missie and Greg Alcorn
Elizabeth and Owen Norvell
Gwin and Matt Barr
Pam and John Schaffer
Marcia and Randy Reamer
Jennifer Hubbard and Steve Cobb
Volunteer Chair – Amy Bauguess
Planning Committee – Amy Bauguess, Barb Sorel, Susan Sides, Jacquelyn Jensen, Sue McHugh, Sherry Beck
Social Media & Marketing – Diane Young, Sue McHugh
Sponsorship Co-chairs – Tim Proper and Cliff Sorel
Silent Auction – Sherry Beck, Kerry Campion, Steve Cobb
Hall House narration - Pam Rutherford
Homeowners – Kristin and Greg Shields, Leah and Shawn Campion, Mary and Andrew Walker, Jacquelyn and Chace Jensen, Dave Loflin, Wivianny DeHaas
Staff – Sada Stewart, Malinda Hollifield, Leah Campion, Kevin Faggart, & Terri Jones
Virtual Tour & Web Design – DKM Media