The Torrence Corners House c. 1914

This Arts & Crafts bungalow was built around 1914 - the exact date unknown, but a history search shows the property was known as Torrence Corners approximately 1913 – 1920.

Owner Burton (“Bert”) Eugene Torrence worked as a clerk in the railroad transfer shed.

It originally had three bedrooms with steps to a basement from the small front bedroom. These enclosed steps contribute to the small size of this bedroom. Evidence of previous steps that lead to an unfinished attic can be seen in the tiny closet here.

A rental property for years, then vacant for more, the home needed dire repair. The current owner performed a complete restoration, retaining many original details including wood floors, plaster walls, several light fixtures, coal burning fireplaces (two with intact original hearth tiles), original windows, and interior doors. Substantial improvements include refinished floors, plaster, foundation, chimneys, and a new kitchen and bath. A closet was transformed into a half-bath off the back bedroom. In the front landscaping, look for hand-hewn granite columns that supported the owner’s 1860s family home in Mt. Ulla, now a creative driveway border.

The circa 1950s shed/garage, featuring an attractively patterned brick floor, has been restored with a new foundation and steps to its second story.