Murphy House small

                                                                                                    photo by Sean Meyers

Built circa 1854 by wealth merchant Andrew Murphy for his bride, this handsome two-story frame, Greek Revival structure features two generous porticoes with Tuscan columns providing an inviting sheltered view of their historic surroundings. The original two lots encompassed approximately one-half of the block, extending from the corner of South Jackson and West Bank Streets south to West Horah Street. The builder’s youngest of ten children, Walter “Pete” Murphy, inherited the property. He was a well-known veteran legislator who served during 19 sessions of the state House of Representatives where he was elected two times to the speakership. His son, Spencer Murphy, eventually inherited the house and was editor of the Salisbury Post for 28 years. The home then passed to his daughter, Mary Marshal Murphy Murdoch who in turn passed it on to her daughter, Katherine DeBerry Murdoch. The house remained in the same family for five generations until 2015 when it was purchased by the current owners who have completed an extensive restoration and renovation of the house.

Original features include double entry doors with beveled glass and surrounds, six fireplaces with original mantels, French doors, glass transoms, wide-planked heart of pine floors, and several rooms with wooden walls and 6” beaded board ceilings.

FacebookGoogle BookmarksLinkedin

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 5.40.30 PM 

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation - Celebrating 46 Years of Preservation

Small Logo for CC

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation, founded in 1972, is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to preserve, protect and revitalize the historic fabric of Salisbury and Rowan County.