photo by Sean Meyers
One of the best preserved and least altered of Rowan County’s smaller antebellum farm seats, the house was built by John Fisher in the 1830's, shortly after he acquired the property from Michael Brown. A one story frame dwelling already on the property was made into the kitchen and dining room. Fisher built the frame house, joining the two structures by a shed porch that abuts the southeast corner of the earlier dwelling.
The interior follows a two-room plan with an enclosed stair to the attic and features vernacular Greek Revival woodwork, original window glass, and unpainted, heart pine walls. The house was extensively restored by the homeowners who have furnished it with an impressive collection of antiques, southern country furniture, and accessories.
The homestead was last on Tour in 1990 when restoration was not yet complete. A log cabin (now guest house), moved from the Concord area and reassembled on-site, sits in the location of an original log cabin that was a spring house used for storage. The granite pillars on which the cabin sits are original to the old cabin. Additions since 1990 include a log outbuilding in 1992 used as a workshop, an arbor in 2003 on the site of the original outdoor kitchen, which burned down prior to the Civil War, and a dog trot barn in 2004, which was moved from the Shenandoah Valley and sits about 50 feet from the original barn destroyed in the 1960s.