photo by Shawn Meyers
Mary Elizabeth Thompson Heilig, widow of James Daniel Heilig of 507 South Fulton Street, built this two-story brick four square house in 1927 and used it, as she would many other houses in the up and coming neighborhood, as a rental as she developed the family land. The 1935 Baldwin City Directory lists Jonathon M. Douglas, a clerk at Armour & Co., a wholesale meat packing business on East Council Street, and wife Nancy living in the home.
In 1945, Mrs. Heilig sold the house to her daughter, Mary “Elizabeth”, and son-in-law, William Edward Hennessee. Mr. Hennessee was a commercial artist and his wife, a secretary at Proctor Chemical Company. In 1955, Mr. Hennessee opened Hennessee Studio of Heraldic Art in the home until 1958 when he passed away. It is believed that Mr. Hennessee designed the seal for the City of Salisbury. Mrs. Hennessee passed away in 1976 and the home remained in the family until the mid-2000’s when it was purchase by Jane Nussman and once again used as a rental property until 2018 when it was purchase by the current owners.
Like the other nearby four-squares designed by Walter F. McCanless, this house is a box-like rectangular shape with a high hipped roof. Its symmetrical composition is balanced by a porte cochere and an open porch (now enclosed) supported by brick piers which extend from each side. The main entry, influenced by the Colonial Revival style, features narrow multi-paned sidelights and is framed by a columned portico.