Bean Cathey small

                                                                                             photo by Sean Meyers

This four-square home was built in 1905 as a rental home by Mary Bean, widow of a prosperous distiller. Their son, W.R. Bean, a local real estate broker, built the Bean-Ellington home at 700 South Fulton Street in 1916. By 1913, the home was moved closer to the street and turned 90 degrees to its current position. It was sold in 1914 to J.P. and Cora Cathey, the grandparents of Senator Elizabeth Dole, who lived there the rest of their lives. Dole’s mother, Mary Cathey Hanford, moved into the house when she was about 12 years old, and as an adult, lived two doors down. After the death of Mr. Cathey, his widow occupied the house and deeded the home to Robert A. Cathey, the Superintendent of High Point, Randleman, Asheboro, and Southern Railroad Company and Yadkin Railroad Company.

In the 1930s and ‘40s, the house was a triplex apartment – two downstairs and one up. A pocket door was located at the front so the families could mingle when desired. During this time there were three different kitchens so each family had their own separate living space. The first floor façade was altered when two front entrances were created to serve the apartment spaces. One of the front entrances has since been changed to look like a window with the tall wooden columns set to frame the main front door.

The home became empty and fell into disrepair in the early 1980’s. Gordon and Barbara Senter began a major restoration of the home in 2005. The original pine floors were refinished and original columns, each made from a single tree trunk, again grace the wide, welcoming front porch. The house retains its slate roof and original glass in front room windows, while salvaged and locally crafted antique corner blocks accent the windows and doorways.

FacebookGoogle BookmarksLinkedin

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 5.40.30 PM 

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation - Celebrating 46 Years of Preservation

Small Logo for CC

 

Historic Salisbury Foundation, founded in 1972, is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to preserve, protect and revitalize the historic fabric of Salisbury and Rowan County.