133 South Main Street
Designed by C.C. Hook of Charlotte, this three-story building was built by David Gaskill of Salisbury as an investment for his aunt, a Mrs. Bell who lived in Morehead City. Gaskill, along with his brother, operated a tobacco factory in Salisbury.
The building’s architectural style is a derivative of Richardsonian Romanesque. It features brick construction with native Rowan County granite covering the front façade, fluted cast iron pilasters on the façade, a small balcony with ornamental iron work on the front corners of the second floor, and an elaborate interior stairway. It has full story windows on the second and third floors and arched windows on the third floor.
The Belk-Harry Co. purchased the Bell Block building in 1934, then donated it to Historic Salisbury Foundation in 1981. The Loflin family purchased the building in 1994 from HSF after renting the space for their business, The Thread Shed, for a number of years. The Thread Shed, as well as the building, is still owned and operated by the Loflin family today.